



Takao HAYAKAWA

Director General & President Chemo-Sero-Therapeutic Research Institute, Guest Professor of Kindai University & Osaka University Hospital Emeritus Investigator of the NIHS of Japan

Board Member Chair, Cell & Gene Therapy Committee Japan

Dr Takao Hayakawa is currently the Director General & President of the Chemo-Sero-Therapeutic Research Institute, the Senior Advisor & Guest Professor of the Pharmaceutical Research and Technology Institute, Kindai University, Guest Professor of School of Medicine, Osaka University Hospital and an Emeritus Investigator of the National Institute of Health Sciences of Japan. He was involved in numerous scientific committees of various Ministries of Japan and served as the chairmen of a number of committees, such as the Committee on the Japanese Pharmacopoeia; the Committee on Biotechnology Products of the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare; the Committee on Reviewing and Promoting National Research Projects on Medical/Pharmaceutical Sciences sponsored by Japanese Government, as well as the Planning Expert Committee of the Food Safety Commission of Cabinet office. He is the author or coauthor of over 600 publications in biochemistry, biotechnology, cell biology and the pharmaceutical sciences.

Internationally, Dr Hayakawa has also played an active role as a member of the ICH Expert Working Groups on biotechnological/biological products (Q5B, Q5C, Q5D and Q6B), CTD and pharmacopoeial interchangeability (Q4B). Among his other responsibilities Dr. Hayakawa is rapporteur for Q5A and Q5E, a member of Pharmacopoeia Discussion Group (USP/EP/JP), and a temporal adviser of WHO.



In Spring of 2012, a royal decoration was conferred on Dr. Hayakawa by Japanese Emperor. He received the Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon. He also received various awards. These include: '2014 Prize for Science and Technology (Research Category) ' by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, for development of innovative new gene transfer methods into mammalian cells; '4th William S.

Hancock Award' for outstanding achievements in CMC regulatory science; and The JSRM Achievement Award 2015' from Japanese Society of Regenerative Medicine (JSRM), for his outstanding achievements in and contributions to regenerative medicine field over a long time.